BST: British Summer Time

BST / UK Daylight Saving Time - What's the time?

When is British Summer Time (BST) this year?

Also : IST = Irish Summer Time (Ireland), WEDT = Western European Daylight Time,
WEST Western European Summer Time

What is the time in the UK?

Winter: Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) / Western European Standard Time

Summer: British Summer Time (BST) / Western European Summer Time

Time Zone: Europe London (UK)

European clocks on Standard Time
until: Sunday 27 March 2016 01:00 GMT

then on Summer / Daylight Saving Time
until: Sunday 30 October 2016 01:00 GMT

When do UK clocks change to British Summer Time (BST)?

Year 2016
Clocks go forward 27 March 2016
Clocks go back 30 October 2016

British Summer Time Rule

British Summer Time operates from the last Sunday in March until the last Sunday in October .  The UK moves its clocks forward from Greenwich Mean Time by one hour (GMT+1).

This is known as British Summer Time or BST for short.  The UK is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.  Great Britain consists of England, Wales and Scotland.

Since 1996 all clocks in the European Union, of which the UK is a member state, have changed on same dates and at the same time, 1am GMT.

  • British Summer Time starts: Last Sunday in March
  • British Summer Time ends: Last Sunday in October
  • British Summer Time clocks change at 1.00 am (01:00) Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)

When is British Summer Time in effect during 2016?


BST Begins
1 am GMT or 2am BST

BST Ends
2 am BST or 1am GMT
2016 27 March 2016 30 October 2016